Ballarat Rugby History

The current club was originally founded in 1976 as "Ballarat City". After having early success winning a premiership in 1977 and having Victorian State representative players, the 1980's saw the club struggle leading to a join association with the University of Ballarat (now Federation University) in 1993.

Once again early success with a 1994 Premiership flag led to the club becoming a prominent community based club at the University.  A further Premiership came in 2000 and Minor Premiership in 2008.

In 2011, the club merged with the St.Patricks Old Collegian's Assosciation, becoming the UB/SPOC Ballarat Rugby Club. 

In 2014, the club was formally Incorporated as the "Ballarat Rugby Union Club".  This same year the club won the Geelong 7's silver plate competition and cemented itself in the top 10 sevens clubs in the state with two players being selected for the Melbourne Rebels 7's squad.

In 2015 the Club moved to its current home base at Doug Dean Reserve, Delacombe, which it hopes to call the home of rugby in Ballarat for many years to come.

The club is currently undertaking a process to compile it's own history, as well as the broader history of Ballarat rugby. If you are an ex Ratta, St Patrick's Old Collegian, Clarendon Old Collegian, or have played in any other club, we would love to hear from you via the contacts page.